Asperger's, IT, and WOW

Started by Arcdelad, June 13, 2008, 06:59:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Arcdelad

I am a huge student of gamer psychology...I will admit that I am the online version of a "people watcher" analyzing behvioral patterns I see in WOW and projecting theories as to why it is we spend so much time online, why people say / act the way they do online (ninja's, thread flamers, braggarts, people TOO quiet, etc etc etc)...

Admittedly I wasn't too sure what Asperger's syndrom was when I read this article about Asperger's and IT, but the following article gave me some good insight into the neorodevelopmental disorder and how the dynamics of a career in IT makes it kind of a hotspot for people with Aspergers.

Refer to this article:

http://www.computerworld.com/action/article.do?command=viewArticleBasic&articleId=9072119

After reading that, I wanted to know more about Asperger's, so I went to the wiki page, shown here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asperger_syndrome

The big thing here that intrigued me was how this disease can make people seem misanthropic - they have a hard time dealing with social conventions like eye contact, chit chat, or distractions from a dedicated task, like fixing a server or grinding out 20 primal fires. People with Asperger's do WELL in online interactions, where you dont have all those social restrictions or subtelties.

Then, I run accross this, which basically says that people who spend tons of time playing wow (like WE all do - I am in this group as well after all =) , actually EXHIBIT a lot of Asperger and autism symptoms, whether or not they have the disease or NOT.

http://news.curse.com/details/8504/