Macros

Started by usonian, December 13, 2006, 09:09:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

usonian

So I decided to play around with macros on my little rogue after reading about the revamped macro system.  I have little experience playing rogues (I think I have a lvl 26 on a pvp server and this new one I started is only 13) so the following opinions may have little bearing or relevance at higher levels.  I liked the idea of using swords for their hitting power and still being able to Backstab (Ambush later) when I wanted.  I needed a macro to switch to a dagger when in stealth, backstab, then switch back to my sword.  I got a macro off of WoWwiki that kept throwing up an error so I tweaked it and got it to work.  Here is what I have so far:

-The Macro

/equipslot [stealth] 16 Uber Dagger
/cast [stealth,equipped:Dagger] Backstab

This may be a bit sloppy, but it works.  I recommend reading Neuro's macro guide on the WoW forums to learn about the new system (it's really quite interesting) but here is the breakdown of what this does.  The first line equips your preffered dagger (replace "Uber Dagger" with your dagger's name) into your main hand slot (the 16 designates that slot) under the condition that you are stealthed (which you should be) on the first button press.  The second line checks that you are in stealth still and that you have a dagger equipped then casts Backstab (you can replace this with Ambush) on the second button push.

-The Setup

1) I made the macro using the same backstab icon and put it into Slot 2 of the stealth action bar.  It's just an easy reach for me at 2, you can put it wherever you want.

2) Then I put the icon for my main hand sword in the bottom of the right action bar (again, wherever you prefer) and mapped the "E" key to it.  This puts it right where my index finger lands when my middle finger is on the backstab macro (hehehe).  NOTE: you'll lose strafe right if you do this.

-The Execution

1) Approach clueless mob.